GIS Jobs at IIC Technologies, Maryland

ES Majors (especially graduating seniors)…

Some of you may remember Rebecca Schmitt, who graduated last spring. The company she works for, IIC Technologies, is hiring people for entry-level GIS jobs (see details below).

Feel free to follow up with Rebecca directly, and send her your resume. I’d also recommend sending a cover letter even though it was not requested. Let me know if you’d like me to take a look at your materials before you send them off.

Rud

From: Rebecca Schmitt [mailto:rebecca.schmitt203@gmail.com]
Sent: Friday, March 18, 2016 11:25 AM
To: Rutherford Platt
Subject: Catching Up and GIS Jobs

Hi, Rud,

I hope all is well! Did you enjoy your sabbatical? I haven’t had much of a chance to catch up with you or the other faculty at Gettysburg, but I started my first post-grad job in September. I’m a "Marine Mapping Technician" with IIC Technologies. More excitingly, though, I’m a contractor for NOAA. I maintain, update, and prepare their nautical charts (of the coastal US ocean) for publishing and I work at their office in Silver Spring, MD. Basically, I get hydrographic surveys, shapefiles of newly built pipelines and cables, bridges, etc, and put that information on our charts. I’m essentially a cartographer, so I don’t get to do any exciting analysis, unfortunately. But it’s a fantastic entry-level GIS job (which are actually hard to come by, as it turns out). Right now I’m working with a program called Bentley V8, which is more of an Auto-cad program than GIS program. I’m part of the team that is updating the raster charts. We’re in the process of moving all our charts to ENC (electronic navigational charts), though, and I will probably be moving to that team within a few months/working with ArcGIS.

I didn’t get a chance to see you/thank you at graduation with timing and your sabbatical, so I wanted to say thanks so much for everything you taught me! I didn’t realize it then, but I learned literally everything I needed for a GIS career in your classes. Possibly more than some of the people I’ve worked with who were geography majors.

On another note, if you have any seniors who are looking for a GIS job right now, you should encourage them to contact me at this email/send me their resume. As contractors for NOAA, my company often loses employees to NOAA every year when the federal jobs come out. We’re about to lose 4 people and are looking to hire around the time seniors should be graduating. My boss said I could give him some resumes if I knew anyone. I think we might only be looking for 1-2 people at NOAA, but we also have a smaller office in Columbia, MD that’s looking to take some people to work on maintaining the charts of the rivers in the US for the USACE. Feel free to forward this email to the students!

Best,

Rebecca Schmitt

rebecca.schmitt203

Leave a Reply

